My cross-channel moment

I spend a lot of time thinking and talking about digital advertising. Probably more than I should. It’s an occupational hazard given the fact that most of my clients over the past three years have been in ad tech. Sometimes though you can’t see the forest for the trees and I just had a cross-channel experience that was something I’ve only thought about in the abstract.

I use VSCO as the main camera on my Galaxy S4. It’s pretty nice and has a ton of controls and reasonable presets. At some point I gave VSCO my email address. Today I got an email letting me know about a new set of analog/aesthetic filters. The email included a link to learn more.

That took me to a blog post with more details. I checked it out and it seemed cool. The post said the filters were available in the in-app store so I pulled out my phone, fired up the app and went to the store. Downloaded them in no time, easy as pie.

Here’s a pic of my soon-to-be-retired glasses using one of the filters.

glasses

It seems weird that I can’t think of having done this before, or even of being aware of the opportunity to do this. Every day I get a ton of offers – through email, online, in Facebook, in-app, etc. – but I rarely bother to see what they’re about. Most of them just aren’t that interesting or well targeted. This one was and VSCO managed to move me from my email to their site and to my phone. I’m glad they did. It’s nice this whole ad tech thing in action sometimes.

Leave a Reply

