Face of the Day – 8.8

Today’s face is a woman at a bar on New Year’s Eve.

Face

For a long time I relied on a flash to photograph faces. Part of it was just what I was used to, and part of it was that I didn’t have any lenses fast enough to work well in low light situations. This night, New Year’s Eve 2010, I was out late with my friend Matt. Matt is pretty into gear. For a while he was getting camera equipment but his first love is sound stuff.

He had a 30mm 1.4 lens with him and I borrowed it for a while. I was talking to this woman and asked if I could get her picture. She had a cool pixieish look and said “yes”. I really like the colors in this one, how vibrant they are but not super bright.

A funny note, or at least a coincidental one, is that I bumped into her again a few months later. It was at the Somerville Theater when Wendy and I were there to see Jonathan Richman. That’s one thing I’ve found about the 1000faces project – there are often strange connections between the people I photograph and the photographs themselves. It’s cool.

Leave a Reply

