Face of the Day: 7.18

Today’s face is Zee Avi, one of my favorite musicians.

Faces

I was driving to work a few years ago, 2009 I guess, just sitting in traffic on the Mass Pike waiting to go through the Weston tolls. I was listening to WZBC, Boston College’s really great station when I heard this incredibly clear and beautiful voice. It was Zee Ave singing “Is this the end.”

As soon as I got to the office I bought the album on iTunes and listen to it over and over. A few months later she was opening for someone at the House of Blues her in Boston and Wendy and I went. The crowd was small but enthusiastic and the music was fantastic.

I’ve seen her play a few more times and will again. Today’s picture was taken outside Great Scott last summer. Here’s a playlist of a few of her songs. You should go buy her music and see her play if you can. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

