Hey Spotify, let us help make Spotify even better

I listen to Spotify every day. I signed up for a premium account as soon as it was available in the US. I totally love it. It’s great to be able to think of a song and listen to it right away. And not only the version I had in mind but often dozens of versions from different artists. I’ve found so much new music.

The ability to build playlists and listen to specific songs makes Spotify my number one music source. Sometimes I’m lazy though and just want the music to take care of itself. Pandora is great for that. Their music genome does a fantastic job of stringing together songs based on whatever I’ve seeded. The only problem is that songs start to repeat really quickly. I guess it’s bound to happen if the catalog is only around a million songs. Meh.

You’d think Spotify Radio would be the solution. They’ve got around 20,000,000 songs so the risk of repeat is low. The problem is that Spotify Radio just isn’t that good. It doesn’t do a very good job of finding similar music. This morning I seeded a station with Edith Piaf. Quickly I found myself listening to Simon and Garfunkel, Nancy Sinatra and The Supremes. Hello? I don’t know if I can figure out what connection exists between those four artists.

(OMG, now it’s playing “I Got You Babe” by Sonny and Cher. How does that have ANY connection to Edith Piaf?)

Spotify has an awesome catalog but there’s no intelligence behind it. Pandora has awesome intelligence but its catalog is tiny. Obviously the two are never going to come together; and there’s not much I can do to help increase the number of songs Pandora can provide . . .

But listen, Spotify, there are a ton of people who’d be happy to help improve your musical tagging and taxonomy. Why not let us help make Spotify even more awesome by giving us the tools and ability to identify the attributes of songs? Like any crowd-sourced model, errors would be caught and corrected and the user experience would be a million times better.

I’d be happy to talk all about it. Seriously.

Here are five songs from my day. None in English. (It makes it too hard to work.)

 

Leave a Reply

