Daily Dozen – Joi Ito

In 2006 I had the opportunity to become involved with MIT. It started with my attending a Communications Forum event on citizens’ media. I enjoyed the event and wrote a post on it. I attended a second on news, information and the wealth of networks and wrote about that one too. Links to both showed up on the Forum site so after the third I introduced myself to David Thorburn, the director of the Forum. To my surprise, he said they’d been looking for me because they thought my write-ups were good and asked if I’d be interested in acting as the Forum rapporteur. Of course I said yes.

Over the years I’ve had the opportunity to write about a number of Forum events. At some point I started photographing them as well. Apparently I was one of the few people able to take decent shots in the Bartos Theater. When I saw that the Emerging Technology Conference – emTech – was coming up I asked if I could attend. I was able to as the event photography and had a great time.

One of the most engaging speakers was Joi Ito, the director of the MIT Media Lab. He discussed fostering innovation in a “fireside chat” with Jason Pontin, the editor-in-chief of the Technology Review. Ito has an intellect and a curiosity and an enthusiasm that is infectious. These all came across in his words during the event and I hope they come through in these 12 photographs as well.

Faces - Joi Ito
emtech MIT 2011-57
emtech MIT 2011-84
emtech MIT 2011-63
emtech MIT 2011-67
emtech MIT 2011-71
emtech MIT 2011-73
emtech MIT 2011-77
emtech MIT 2011-81
emtech MIT 2011-82
emtech MIT 2011-79
emtech MIT 2011-80

Leave a Reply

