Trying Flock again

I started using Flock almost three years ago and really loved it.  But somewhere along the line I noticed it was absolutely *killing* the performance of my MacBook Pro (using huge CPU cycles, heating the thing up like a damn oven and running my fans non-stop) so I stopped using it.  I saw a few people posting about version 2.5 earlier today and read Rafe Needleman’s review this morning.

It’s back on my system, running and seems not to be hogging every available resource.  I hope it’s more stable this time because I really do think it’s the slickest browser out there.  Here are the things that rule:

Media Bar – I use Flickr all the time and I love being able to see my friends’ photos.  With Flock I can see their photos across the top of the browser.  I really missed not having that since it meant I didn’t have an easy way to view them.  You can view all kinds of services in the media bar: Bibo, Digg, Facebook, Photobucket, YouTube, etc.  It’s a great way to see what people are producing and posting.

Social Networks – On the left side of my browser I keep the People tab open.  I can see Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, YouTube, etc.  I can post straight from there to Twitter and Facebook and while it’s not as good as some of the stand-alone clients like Tweetie or Tweetdeck it’s still pretty nice.

Persistent Facebook Chat – Since I’m logged into Facebook in the People tab my Facebook chat is available even if I’m not on Facebook.com.  Maybe not a big deal but still pretty sweet.

Integrated Blogging – I don’t mind going to WordPress.com to post, but it’s also pretty nice to be able to post to any of my sites from a single editor – or to post to multiple sites if that’s what I want to do.  And if I see something post-worthy on a site I can just highlight it, right click and select “blog this” to launch my editor. 

It may still happen that Flock continues to give me performance headaches and if it does so be it.  I use and really like Firefox and Safari as well but for the moment I’m going to keep my fingers crossed fro Flock.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Leave a Reply

