Kind of strange

I read a lot and have a fair number of books. (I used to buy a lot but now trade them on Swaptree – check it out.) I try to be careful with my books but I have two that I’ve wrecked in exactly the same way – dousing them with water. Now drenching two books in and of itself might not be strange but here’s what is . . .

The first was the Penguin Classics edition of Thucydides (dropped in a bath while trying to recover from a hangover). The second was the Penguin Classics edition of Herodotus (soaked in a backpack in a torrential rain). It isn’t like this is what I read most of the time and the damage was separated by more than a year and a half. I don’t know, it just seemed strange to me.

Leave a Reply

