One of the dumbest stories I’ve seen in a long time

I saw this on my local news last night; and today it is on the front page of CNN.com: Experts warn of lightning-strike injuries with iPods.

Emergency physicians report treating other patients with burns from freak accidents while using personal electronic devices such as beepers, Walkman players and laptop computers outdoors during storms.

Now maybe I’m missing something here, but getting stuck by lightning – with or without and iPod – is a pretty big deal. The coverage did point out that personal electronic devices don’t increase ones likelihood of being struck . . . so why did anyone even bother doing the story? As a PR guy, when I read or watch the news, I find myself asking, “who’s behind this story? what might be their agenda?” and frankly I have no idea about this one. Just dumb.

[tags]lightning, ipod, injury[/tags]

Leave a Reply

