Is this the end of two computers for GPC?

Today an email was sent out from our IT group saying that any personal computers logged in through the company network need to be removed “ASAP.” I pretty much the only person logging in with a personal computer so I guess that means me. . .

Back in March I wrote about my reasoning for using two computers at work and I think the reasoning still stands up. I don’t think it is reasonable for me to necessarily do my blogging, Flickr, Second Life, etc. from my work computer. While some of those things are work-related, they are also personal and portable.

I wonder if this prohibition applies to any outside system? Does this mean that clients, vendors and partners are prohibited from accessing the Internet through our network? Should I assume that the inverse is also true – not work computers accessing the Internet through non-work networks?

This is troubling and disappointing news . . .

[tags]work computers personal professional bummer[/tags]

3 thoughts on “Is this the end of two computers for GPC?

  1. Hi Greg,

    I’ve been sorely distracted from blogs and blogging in the past couple of weeks; but this post of yours caught my eye, because it reminded me of our discussion on this topic some time back.

    Incidentally, on the very day of your post, I decided to take a leaf out of your book to purchase and bring in a personal notebook to the workplace. (This, despite the “encouragement” from my IT department to refrain from doing so.)

    A real pity. And like you, I simply can’t believe the IT policies that still exist where we are!

  2. Best of luck with your IT staff. I was able to make a case for my continued use by pointing out that I use my personal system for work projects – specifically those related to social media. The fact that it is a Mac and my work desktop is Windows helps I think. Let me know how things turn out and how the two laptop lifestyle works for you.

  3. IT departments some times dictate what a business should do, but that does not mean it helps the business make a profit. Network security is important but we also have to make sure things are workable for today’s new media world.

Leave a Reply

