Back in Maction

Thanks to people’s understanding here at work, I will continue to be able to use my personal system at the office. It’s a big deal for me because I have things set up the way I like them, have all of the applications I need, as well as the content.

When word came down that my system was machina-non-grata earlier today I did try doing everything from my office PC and I can sum up the experience in one word: stinky. Sure it worked, but it involved moving files from one system to the other, dealing with kludgey interface issues, etc.

I really appreciate that I have the freedom and flexibility to work in ways that work best for me and need to make sure that I’m not overstepping any boundaries or otherwise misbehaving . . . Reasonable enough.

[tags]GregPC, two computers, work, home, personal, professional[/tags]

2 thoughts on “Back in Maction

  1. Lisa Amaya Price says:

    Greg, I hear you on the kludgey interface front! Who designs these Windows programs, human beings or robots?After having to use a PC laptop through my MBA program (2002-2005), I’m glad that my personal laptop (Dell) is finally biting the dust so that I can purchase a machine that does what I want it to (an iMac) instead of needing more maintenance than a pet dog. I’m longing to be free from the mandatory daily Norton AntiVirus updates and Microsoft Updates. I hope IT finds a way for you to continue to use your Mac at work within the boundaries.

  2. gpc says:

    Yes they have, and for that I am thankful. I have used PCs for years and generally like them but there is something much more appealing about the Mac interface and experience . . .

Leave a Reply

