SMC Boston

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I’d volunteer to be the programming director for the Social Media Club/Boston. Last night there was a planning meeting to discuss ideas and activities for the rest of 2007 and now I’m even more excited to be involved. Next week’s program on Ethics and the Social Media Generation Gap – which will be looking at the Adult Swim campaign here in Boston among other things – should be good.

There are also programs planned on Second Life, the business case for social media and one on identity, trust and reputation. The latest details for the various upcoming events are on the Club’s wiki.

The group that met was Todd Van Hoosear from Topaz, Sriya Kodial from Text100, Amanda Watlington from Searching for Profit, Liz Koch from BusinessWire and me from Weber Shandwick.

We met at Kinsale which is always a good choice. I had three beers – a Scotch Ale, a Dogfish Head 90 minute IPA and a Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar. The Rogue was my fave. It was really great.

[tags]smcboston, Social Media Club, Boston, Social Media, Todd Van Hoosear, Sriya Kodial, Amanda Watlington, Liz Koch, Kinsale, beer[/tags]

One thought on “SMC Boston

  1. Hi Greg, I am still puzzled as to why the Social Media club is discussing the Aqua Teen Hunger Force campaign? I thought the company used non-web technology guerilla marketing tactics. Can you explain the connection to me?

    though the panel discussion looks excellent, and I will be attending. I just don’t understand its relevancy to SMC.

Leave a Reply

