WordPress was really pissing me off tonight

I keep meaning to upgrade to 2.1.2 and decided that this snowy night was just about right. I made a back up of my database and set to work.

Things started smoothly enough (meaning I was able to download the new version with no problem) and it unzipped like nobody’s business. But when I went to install it things started going bad. For some reason, there was one .gif file that is associated with one of my themes that it just wouldn’t copy. Then there was another file and another and another.

Eventually it appeared that everything had been copied and I managed to run the upgrade. Getting into the admin area was fine; but when I went to my site there was nothing there but error messages. The whole thing was a mess so I decided to just reinstall the version I had been using.

Whoops!

Since I’d upgraded my database, the older version no longer worked (at least that’s my guess). I deleted the old version and went back to the new version. Once again there were files that just wouldn’t copy. I pestered Dave Evans a few times and I finally ended up cutting and pasting the guts of the files up onto the server.

I wouldn’t say it was an easy upgrade, but after only two hours everything seems to be working.

[tags]Workpress, blogging, upgrade, headache[/tags]

Leave a Reply

