My biggest musical disappointment

A few months ago I started listening to Divided and United, a compilation of songs from the Civil War. It’s a great collection with some songs I’ve really come to love. There’s one song that I like above all others and that I’ve wanted to play with Waiting for Neil. The song is “Listen to the Mockingbird” performed by Stuart Duncan and Dolly Parton. Check it out:

It’s really good. The fiddle is something else, the harmonies are great. I love it. I wasn’t familiar with the song before I heard this recording. At least that’s what I thought. As soon as I started sharing it with people they’d say, “oh, the Three Stooges song” and laugh. How is it that everyone I know has heard this song but me? It’s not just the Three Stooges either – there’s a Barney version, a Flintstone’s version, the list goes on and on.

It doesn’t change my opinion of the song though. And I’m not the only one. The New York Times did a piece when the album came out that tells the story of the song. It also provides links to lots of other versions. Again, how did I not know about this song? Seriously, I love the Three Stooges but my ear didn’t hear the connection between the Stooges and the version on Divided and United.

I’ve resigned myself to the fact I’ll never convince my bandmates to play it. That’s OK. It’s still a great song but I’ll just have to enjoy it on my own.

One thought on “My biggest musical disappointment

  1. Hi Greg,
    I’m surprised to learn that you have been unfamiliar with the mockingbird song. I’ve known it since I was a little kid, even before knowing much about the Stooges. The lyrics to the version I knew included reference to the mockingbird “pecking on a five inch turd” and similar edifying rhymes. Ah well, the charms of misspent youth. In thinking about this subject I reflected on the provenance of many jokes and ditties of my childhood that were preserved from a much earlier time – from an America, more rural and far less refined or sophisticated than ours now. Children today cannot relate to or understand many of the commonplace references to a world of geeks and primitives still spoken of when I was a kid. Lost today, and I’m not sure for the worst. Might be a good topic for research which the Internet will make much easier. Good hunting. Be well Namaste Dad 02262014

Leave a Reply

